Madden Studio Blog


A Day in San Francisco
March 27, 2012, 8:41 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

"Victorians on Alamo Square"

As some may know, I recently moved away from the Bay area, as my family has returned to the New York Metro Region.  Amongst the adjustments I am making, the greatest is to the one-nap-a-day schedule.  Because a few people have recently inquired as to what I am doing with my work, I have decided to use my blog as a way to let people see some of the work in progress.  Of course, due to limited free time at the present, much of what I do is play around with photographs I have already taken, to see where I might take things.  I like the idea of putting together a book of the work I did while in California, but choosing how to organize it and edit it appears a bit overwhelming at the moment.  But we shall see.

So just for kicks I am offering a slight review of a day I spent shooting in San Francisco with Ken Mahar, fellow photographer and friend, who was gracious enough to take me on a San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off tour.   As you’ll see there are plenty of run of the mill “snapshots” but I also had a chance to photograph some remarkable architectural features both at the Palace of Fine Arts and at the De Young Museum and to add my own creative touches.

The Palace of Fine Arts is shown here:

Palace of Fine Arts

The details of the architecture provide ample opportunities for playing with line, shape and color.  Here is a view looking upward at one of the arches.

Detail of the Palace of Fine Arts

I took this one working on the diagonal, but still haven’t decided what to do with it.

Curves and Columns

My favorite “in camera” shot came from the De Young Museum whose perforated walls allow one to play with texture and form.

Wall t the De Young Museum

Using a photoshop technique to which I have a crazy addiction I came up with this interpretation of the same wall.

Wall at the De Young Reinterpreted

Unfortunately, “lil ‘El” is calling, so my work for today is done.  I guess I should have entitled this “A Few Glances at a Day in San Francisco”.  Well the good news is I have more to work on tomorrow.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Great stuff. Maybe someday we can reconnect face to face again.

Comment by Ron and Gail Veenema

Would love it!

Comment by brianmadden




Leave a Reply

